Prof. Dr. Werner Seeger

University Education

1972 – 1979 Studies of Medicine, Westfälische-Wilhelms University Münster and Justus Liebig University Giessen (JLU)
1980 Doctorate Medicine, JLU
1986 Habilitation Internal Medicine, JLU


Scientific Career

1979 - 1982 Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Pathological Biochemistry, JLU
1982 - 1987 Internship and Residency, Department of Medicine, JLU
1987 - 1991 Assistant Professor of Medicine, Department of Medicine, JLU
1991 - 1996 Head, Clinical Research Group “Respiratory Failure”, JLU
Since 1996 Professor of Internal Medicine, Section Head of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine, JLU (professorship prolonged until 2024 by the University President)
1997 - 2009 Head, Collaborative Research Center (Sonderforschungsbereich) SFB 547 “Cardio­pulmonary Vascular System”
Since 1999 Chair, TransMIT GmbH, Medical Technology
Since 2000 Medical Executive Director of the Department of Internal Medicine, JLU
2002 - 2009 Member, Senate Committee “Clinical Research”, German Research Foundation
2003 - 2009 Member, German Council of Science and Humanities (The Wissenschaftsrat)
Since 2006 Coordinator of the Excellence Cluster Cardio-Pulmonary System/Cardio-Pulmonary Institute (ECCPS/CPI)
2006 - 2013 Member of the Health Research Council (Gesundheitsforschungsrat)
Since 2007 Director of the Department of Lung Development and Remodeling at the Max-Planck Institute for Heart and Lung Research, Bad Nauheim
2007 - 2010 Chairman of the Medical Commission of the German Council of Science and Humanities (The Wissenschaftsrat)
Since 2010 Chair of the Universities of Giessen and Marburg Lung Center (UGMLC)
Since 2011 Chair of the German Center for Lung Research (DZL)
Since 2015 Member of the Forum for Health Research (Forum Gesundheitsforschung) of the German Ministry for Research and Education
Since 2016 External Scientific Member and Research Laboratory Leader at the Biomedicine Research Institute in Buenos Aires, Argentina (IBIOBA)
Since 2020 Chair of the Institute for Lung Health, JLU/DZL, Giessen, Germany


Awards and Honors

1987 Schunk Award for Medicine, JLU
1988 Theodor Frerichs Award, German Society for Internal Medicine (DGIM)
2000 Election to the German Academy of Natural Sciences Leopoldina
2008 Robert-Pfleger Award
2013 International Pulmonary Vascular Research Institute Achievement Award
2014 European Respiratory Society Congress Award for Outstanding Scientific Achievements
2014 Von Behring-Röntgen Research Medal
2014 Fellow of the European Respiratory Society (FERS)
2014 American Heart Association Dickinson W. Richards Memorial Award
2019 International Balzan Prize “Pathophysiology of Respiration”
2021 Lifetime Achievement Award of the Medical Faculty, JLU


Citation Record:   Total citations: 70.257    h-index: 124  (Google Scholar July 26th, 2021)